Shoemail


Our monthly newsletter

* A Must





*



Powered by VerticalResponse

Follow Us On Twitter

Flickr


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from Shoeflyer. Make your own badge here.

Get the Blog


Enter your email address to get daily blog updates:

OR
Get Updates Via RSS




Tuesday, March 31st, 2009

Easter Sunday Best: Petticoat Teal Flats

seychelles-petticoatI’m slipping into a pair of Seychelles Petticoat flats in teal this upcoming Easter Sunday. The color is perfect for my spring floral a-line skirt and the two button adornment on the vamp is the utmost in femininity. Other descriptions of the shoe called them “nautical.” I’m not so sure I feel sailor-like in these too-cute shoes. I feel more like a second grader running around my grandma’s house in my Easter dress.  But hey, we all have our opinions on style.

(more…)

Wednesday, March 11th, 2009

The Heelless Boot Is a Star at Paris Fashion Week

I thought the heel-free boot was condemned to the footnotes of fashion history after Victoria Beckham couldn’t walk more than thirty feet in them. Judging by the examples at Paris Fashion week, I was wrong. Heelless boots are apparently still in style—at least if you ask designers like Olivier Theyskens. His final show for Nina Ricci had models strutting down the catwalk on their tiptoes, staring stoically straight ahead, probably because their full focus was required to actually walk in those things.

(more…)

Sunday, February 22nd, 2009

Shoe Designs from NY Fashion Week: Phillip Lim

Phillip Lim is the second designer Shoeflyer scouted out from last week’s NY Fashion Week. First up: a bit of background on this modster designer. Phillip Lim is an  American designer of Chinese descent who focuses on bringing elegance to the street. Vogue’s Laird Borrelli describes Mr. Lim’s designs as “pretty-but-cool clothes” that “don’t try too hard.”

(more…)

Wednesday, February 11th, 2009

Shoes for toasty toes and high spirits

These are the flat, monotonous days of winter. The excitement of the holidays is gone. The elections are over, too. Even the weather’s getting old. Snow, sleet, and wind chill are no longer novel this late into the season. On days like this, it’s crucial to fuel your own joy. One easy way to lift your soul out of the winter doldrums is through your soles. Somehow, perky footwear has the power to perk up your mood as well as your outfit.

(more…)

Thursday, January 29th, 2009

Shoes of the Week: Weird Thursday

Thursday is a very strange day, indeed. If you’re like me, you head home after work and find every attempt to stay productive thwarted by your own favorite distractions. The weekend is so tantalizingly close that it becomes difficult to do the simplest chores, like paying the phone bill. Why do such menial tasks when the weekend is just hours away?

(more…)

Monday, November 5th, 2007

Weekend in review-shoes and news

Jessica Simpson is back in the news, but this time instead of having Nick Lachey hanging from her arm, she has a hand bag with her very own name on it.  I’m curious about whether or not the Jessica Simpson shoe and handbag line matches the Queen’s sensible style (read on to understand this reference). Other centurions in the news include the work boot manufacturer Red Wing Shoes, who’s giving the casual shoe market another whirl. 

(more…)

Friday, September 28th, 2007



Ulli by Bronx: Shoe Review

Nothing ropes me in like a good old-fashioned shoe sale. So when Shoefly announced their warehouse sale a short while back, I was there at lunchtime, ready to spend. 

(more…)

Thursday, September 13th, 2007

Shoes you can’t use

Every now and again we run, or perhaps walk, into shoes which serve absolutely no functional purpose. However, they are fun to look at whether useful or useless. That being said, today is an extra special day, as we have two such shoes for your entertainment. Both of these marvels of futuristic footwear take the name "concept shoe" to knew heights and leave us wondering what the future has in store for our feet. Let’s just hope it has nothing to do with these beauties. Now for the shoe:

(more…)

Thursday, May 3rd, 2007



Franny by Sam Edelman : Shoe Review

At first I didn’t even notice Franny. I passed her by several times, lured away by pairs of fiery red platform stilettos and bright green flats.
Nothing seemed quite right…until I saw her. Perched quietly on the shelf, the promise of soft gray shoes for spring! Yay!

(more…)

Monday, April 16th, 2007



Bird Pump by Coclico: Shoe Review

Ooh La La, Little Bird – A Classic Suede Pump by Coclico

(more…)

Fashion Week
Designer Spotlight